Monday Mayhem


After four sermons, lessons, and discussions on the Biblical exhortation to “rejoice in the Lord always”, I entered this Monday with a determination to rejoice in the Lord.  Reality set in when after a two hour drive for a meeting that had been declared “mandatory” I learned that the trip was not required.  Since the return trip was equally long, that meant four hours on the road for no reason other than discovering an “opportunity” to test my resolve to rejoice in the Lord.  While my road trip friend and I tried to cajole one another into finding some basis to rejoice, I got word that a friend and church member we had been praying for had passed away.  I told myself I could rejoice in the fact that her destiny was secure in Christ and she was now truly rejoicing in Heaven.  Still, the thoughts of trying to offer some comfort the family made it somewhat difficult to actually rejoice at the news.  While still reeling from the disasters of the day thus far, I got another message (this time via SMS) that another dear friend and brother in Christ who has been battling cancer for almost eight years was in intensive care and having a really bad day.  By this time, I am ready to have one of those long “gripe sessions” we call prayer with the Lord!  Thankfully, God has a sense of humor and as the sun sets and the pace of the day slows, I realize that there is indeed a place in Christ where we can have genuine peace in the middle of adversity.  With some degree of effort on my part and the enabling power of the Holy Ghost, I am convinced that we can “rejoice in the Lord always!”

~ by brotherfaron on August 4, 2009.

2 Responses to “Monday Mayhem”

  1. It may be that in those times that our faith is tested more – that we know His Presence most. Blessings on you, brother, as you ask the Lord to allow His Word to move from your head to your heart.

    • 2 Corinthians 1:3,4 in the English Standard version reads “3Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, 4who comforts us in all our affliction, so that we may be able to comfort those who are in any affliction, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God.”
      It goes on to say that as we share in Christ’s sufferings, we share in Christ’s comfort too. I take courage in knowing that the God of all Comfort is present through all of these circumstances. Thanks for your comment!

Leave a Reply

 
