Saved Through Faith In Christ


Acts 15:5-11 provided me some food for thought today.  I found it interesting that “some of the believers who belonged to the party of the Pharisees” wanted to require new, Gentile believers to be circumcised and demand that such believers “obey the law of Moses.”  This made me reflect on how I have at times been guilty of this same attitude, wanting new believers to be just like me.  I sometimes have expected that new believers, irrespective of their background or culture, should follow the same trail I did to be saved and once they claim to be saved they must behave (at least outwardly) the same way I do in order for me to to accept their profession of faith as genuine.  I find that the eleventh verse of the passage reminds me of the fundamental truth I sometimes fail to remember: “No!  We believe it is through the grace of our Lord Jesus that we are saved just as they are.”  Your thoughts?

~ by brotherfaron on August 5, 2009.

2 Responses to “Saved Through Faith In Christ”

  1. I agree, an unfortunately we all do this. We tend to want everyone to think, feel and respond as we do. You came to the altar and got saved this morning but didn’t come to Sunday evening services what happened–I guess it “didn’t take”. New believers are as diverse in their reaction to salvation as our appearances. Some have emotional reactions, some don’t, some start witnessing, some don’t, etc etc etc. Our Lord sees inside where we can’t and he knows our hearts, we need to accept that. We plant the seed in the church and nurture it but we cannot always judge how the crop will look or how much or the quality, but praise God for the harvest.

    “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding:” Proverbs 3:5

    • Thanks for the comment, Frank. Your verse from Proverbs 3:5 has been a mainstay for my family and me over the last two years. Blessings to you, my brother!

Leave a Reply

 
