Truth in the Inward Being


Psalm 51:6 says “You desire truth in the inner being, therefore teach me wisdom in my secret heart.”  As I read this in morning quiet time, it occurred to me that we often have trouble being honest with ourselves in our “inward parts”.  There is this thing we call “rationalization” and it is what we do when we really don’t want to admit the truth about something in our “secret heart”.  I reflected over times in my life when I could make every rationalization and excuse for my behavior or feelings.  I thought of times when people came to me as their pastor and rationalized their own actions and thoughts.  Then I meditated upon King David’s prayer and attitude in this wonderful Psalm of Confession and Repentance.  What a simple yet profound reality that God simply desire truth in our inner being!  I wonder how different, and perhaps more powerful and effective, our lives would be if we would join with David in his request that God “teach us wisdom in our secret heart”?

~ by brotherfaron on August 24, 2009.

2 Responses to “Truth in the Inward Being”

  1. I am thankful we serve a risen Savior who understands our inner man from personal experience.
    “But because of his great love for us. God, who is rich in mercy, made us alive with Christ even when we were dead in transgessions–it is by grace you have been saved.” Ephesians 2:4-5

    • Amen! Thanks for the comment. It is indeed a wonderful thing that God loved us even when we were “dead in trespass and sin” and He loves us still. Blessed be the Name of the Lord!

Leave a Reply

 
