Our Protector, Our Glory


Through the prophet Zechariah, the Awesome God of Creation says of Jerusalem, “…I will be a wall of fire around it, and I will be the glory within it.” (Zechariah 2:5, Holman Christian Standard version).  I sometimes think of Jerusalem as “the place where the Prince of Peace dwells” (Jeru – Salem) and in some ways I relate much of what God says to and about Jerusalem to His word and exhortation to the believer, because Jesus (the Prince of Peace) dwells within us through the power of the Holy Spirit.  When I read today that God is “a wall of fire around it“, I thought of how wonderful it is to know that He is protecting me and you with His Holy Fire!  No “roaring lion” can get to us because we are surrounded by His protection!  Then I think of how He declares that He “will be the glory within it” and I realize that apart from Him, there can be no real glory, no real lasting value nor beauty in our lives.  Because of Him, when He dwells within us, our lives can become something beautiful, something good, all for His glory.  Then it shall be fulfilled that He is our wall of fire, protecting us; and He is the glory within us, living through us!  My prayer for you today is that you will know the full measure of His love for you!

~ by brotherfaron on August 28, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
