Being a Better Student


The Apostle Paul wrote to Timothy that he should “study to show thyself approved unto God, a workman that needeth not to be ashamed, rightly dividing the Word of Truth.”  I have had that exhortation taught to me, preached to me, and written to me enough times that I should now never forget it.  This morning, however, I was reminded of the underlying principle as I invested my devotional time in fellowship with the Living Word.  I was reading in Proverbs 23 and the 12th verse spoke to my heart.  It says “apply yourself to instruction and listen to words of knowledge.”  Reflecting back over more than fifty years of life, I can see that I always benefited from following this principle.  Whether in secular school, military training, sports classes, or Bible study, applying myself to instruction always helped me get more out of it.  Listening to words of knowledge kept me from probably more calamity than I really know, but I can specifically remember times where paying attention to sound advice was a real blessing!  I have noticed though that as I have grown older I have a tendency to be somewhat less attentive to instruction than I once was.  I have found myself in a congregation on more than one occasion and instead of applying myself to the instruction in God’s Word, I have let my thoughts ramble.  I wonder what blessings I missed?  After today’s encounter with the Spirit, I am committed to being a better student in all areas.  Are you?

~ by brotherfaron on September 3, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
