Payback


We are blessed with an abundance of goodness from our Heavenly Father.  The creation itself is wondrous in its majesty and variety.  The priceless gift of God’s Only Begotten Son as the propitiation for our sins tops the list of blessings too numerous to list.  So how do we repay God for His many blessings and benefits which He has so freely given us?  Psalm 116:12 asks the question this way: “How can i repay the Lord for all the good He has done for me?”.  Then, we find the answer in the next two verses: “I will take the cup of Salvation and worship the Lord.  I will fulfill my vouws to the Lord in the presence of all His people.”  I would offer today that the only reasonable thing we can do to ever pay back God for all His goodness is to accept the free gift of salvation through Jesus Christ, His Son.  We do that by grace through faith and then we worship the Lord in the beauty of holiness.  The careful note that I want to point out is that the means by which we demonstrate our pay back to God is “I will fulfill my vows to the Lord in the presence of all His people.”  How often have people accepted Christ, perhaps even following His example of being baptized in His Name, and then failed to fulfill the vows they made?  Let us be diligent to pay back God by accepting His offer of salvation, worshiping Him with our whole heart, and fulfilling our vows in the presence of all His people!

~ by brotherfaron on September 16, 2009.

2 Responses to “Payback”

  1. I am one of those that accepted God long ago, but didn’t choose to pay back. I didn’t listen with my heart then, nor really knew what salvation was. Now it is like a big BANG. I find myself talking to God more and more everyday. I probably look like a crazy woman driving down the road. As usual your messages hit so close to what direction I was headed in and the sharp right I took recently. I thank God for leading so many of you and some of my other friends for praying for me. Today is the first day I have visited this site. GOOD JOB!

    • Thanks! BEBC is blessed that God brought you our way. Nancy and I love you and were are thankful God gave us the opportunity to be friends. I am glad you like the blog.

Leave a Reply

 
