When Sparks Fly


Have you ever noticed that some people seem to always rub you the wrong way?  You know, there are those folks you just almost dread to see coming because they seem to get under your skin.  Then you have those other people that you really enjoy being around and you look forward to them showing up, even unexpectedly.  I suppose that we all have this dichotomy of response/reaction to people.  Some of them we love being around and some of them we would rather avoid.  Today I was reading from the book of Proverbs, chapter 27, when I ran across this poignant reminder of how God uses people in our lives: “As iron sharpens iron, so one man sharpens another.”  My reflection on this proverb caused me to realize that I have been blessed over the years with a few close friends who have shaped my life in a positive direction, even when doing so made the sparks fly from time to time.  I also realized that God has likewise sent along a few people who shaped my life as well, though sometimes with a lot more sparks flying in the process, even when I failed to realize that this second set of people where helping sharpen my life into an instrument useful in the hands of the Master.  Have the sparks been flying around your life lately?  Maybe God is using someone to shape your life into a more useful instrument.  That is sometimes what happens, when sparks fly!

~ by brotherfaron on September 17, 2009.

4 Responses to “When Sparks Fly”

  1. So true Bro. Faron. I have seen people who have helped shape me in both ways. Thank you for your dedication to the Lord. You are a true inspiration.

  2. We were just having lengthy conversation about this–my husband and I, about someone I have worked with for many years. Richard reminded me about Paul’s “thorn in the flesh”. I think this correlates with the “iron sharpens iron”. Paul’s thorn, whatever it was, was allowed by the Lord and it was used to “sharpen” his ministry as well as his life. He couldn’t get too “puffed up” cause of this thorn. That’s how it is with the people who “sharpen us”, by iron sharpening iron. Am I making sense?? This person has been in my life for many, many years, and I can be having the sparks fly in me, but then the Lord reminds me that I am his ambassador to that person and I need to be sharpened as well as represent the Lord in each instance. I guess I’m going to be sharpened by all sorts of other “iron” in my life, until HE comes!

    • Being sharpened may not be easy, but we have His promise that all things work together for good to us who are called according to His purpose. So when the sparks are flying, try to take comfort in knowing that what God is making will eventually be something good. Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

 
