Follow Faithfully


The Bible is filled with promises.  There are books about the promises of God.  The faith of Christians is, in many ways, closely intertwined with the promises of God to His people.  Many of us sometimes feel as though we are missing out on those promises.  In my devotional reading this morning, I noticed this first verse from the eighth chapter of Deuteronomy seemed to catch my attention: “You must carefully follow every command I am giving you today, so that you may live and increase, and may enter and take possession of the land the Lord swore to your fathers.”  Now I realize that this is an Old Testament promise and that it was part of the covenant between God and the descendants of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob.  The thought I had, though, made me wonder if there might be a principle here that you and I can apply in today’s time and in our own culture and our personal relationship with the Lord.  Consider this, if we think about “the land the Lord swore to your fathers” as being descriptive of the collective experience of the relationship between Christ and the individual believer, then the verse suggests that to fully experience (“enter and take possession“) the blessings of our relationship with Christ we must “carefully follow every command” God gives us each day.  Another translation uses the the phrase “follow faithfully” rather than “carefully follow”.  I wonder how our individual walk with Christ would change if you and I chose to “faithfully follow” every prompting of the Holy Spirit in our daily lives?

~ by brotherfaron on September 21, 2009.

6 Responses to “Follow Faithfully”

  1. Thank you Bro. Faron for encouraging me!! i enjoy you blog.

  2. Uncle Faron, Joni plugged me into your site this past weekend and today was the first I read and it was very inspiring to know how our God wants us to live. Stay Strong and Faithful

  3. Thank you, brother! We don’t have a “leadership” problem in our day. We have a “followship” problem. I want to follow Him…

    You are a blessing….

Leave a Reply

 
