Unequalled Motivation


As I have been training towards a half marathon coming up in about ten days, I have found myself thinking a good bit about motivation.  Why am I running when no one is chasing me?  Why am I up and running down the road before daylight? Sometimes it is pretty difficult to just keep putting one foot in front of the other at a double time pace.  If anything good has come from the hard work (and the thoughts about motivation), it may be the reflection about a verse that is often used in memorial services (which we have had too many of lately!).  The verse is 1 Corinthians 15:58 and it says “Therefore, my dear brothers, be steadfast, immovable, always excelling in the Lord’s work, knowing that your labor in the Lord is not in vain”.  In the same way that all the physical work and effort that goes into preparing for a long distance run is not in vain but has value in building up one’s endurance and stamina, so also the effort and energy put into the work of the Lord has value in bearing fruit in His Kingdom.  In fact, the phrase at the end of the verse declares that we can “know our labor in the Lord is not in vain”.  I can cite multiple examples, but let me give just two here for brevity’s sake.  First, my mother labored in the Lord for some ten years, praying for a wayward son wondering far from home and from the Lord.  Still, her labor in the Lord was not in vain; for in due time this wayward son returned to the Lord and to his family and now serves the Lord in ministry.  Second, I had a brief message from a friend with whom I once worked today and he shared with me that somehow the Lord had touched his life through me.  I was reminded again that our work in the Lord is not in vain.  Have you needed a little motivation lately?  Check out 1 Corinthians 15:58.  You will find unequalled motivation through the Holy Spirit.

~ by brotherfaron on September 24, 2009.

One Response to “Unequalled Motivation”

  1. Motivation… that’s what i need!! thank you bro.Faron

Leave a Reply

 
