Make Them Count


I was talking with a friend the other day and he mentioned that life had seemed to pass him by before he knew it was coming.  He was expressing regrets over things that he wishes he had taken time to do because he is no longer physically able to do them.  After our talk, I was praying that God would give my friend a peace about accepting things that he can not change.  My reflection in prayer took me to a Psalm which is attributed to Moses.  Psalm 90:12 says “Teach us to number our days aright, that we may gain a heart of wisdom.”  It occurred to me that I should be more faithful in calling out to God and seeking His help in numbering my days “aright”.  In simple terms, I believe Moses had come to realize that life is short and we should do all that we can to make each day count.  All too soon we will find ourselves rapidly approaching the end of this journey in life and there will be no do overs.  After my conversation with my friend and my subsequent prayer, I am committed to more regularly asking God to help me number my days so I can remember to make them count.  How about you?

~ by brotherfaron on September 28, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
