What’s Your Mindset?


I was noticing in a news report this morning that the government is considering legislation that would make texting illegal while driving.  The report talked about how being distracted while driving is apparently even more dangerous than being intoxicated while driving (I think they said four times more likely to have an accident while texting than when driving at the legal limit of .08).  Reflecting on the report while driving later (yes, I was distracted) caused me to remember the verse of Scripture from Romans 8:5, which says “Thos who live according to the sinful nature have their minds set on what that nature desires; but those who live in accordance with the Spirit have their minds set on what the Spirit desires.”  I thought about how many times I find myself “driving” through this life while distracted by the things my sinful nature desires.  Instead, I should be pursuing the things the Spirit desires.  The Word of God instructs us and admonishes us to focus on the things of God in this life so that we avoid the shipwreck of faith.  Perhaps we should all check our mindset as we drive along the highway of life.  What’s your mindset today?

~ by brotherfaron on September 30, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
