They Were Sure


I was looking through some journal entries from months past during my time with the Lord this morning and I ran across an entry from April, 2009.  It seems that the verse of the day was John 21:12 and it read “No one dared ask Him if He really was the Lord because they were sure of it.”  That last phrase really hit home: “…because they were sure of it.”  I paused to reflect upon my own convictions about the certainty of Jesus of Nazareth truly being the Son of God.  Being sure of that fact changes every thing!  As long as one harbors doubt about the Lordship of Jesus Christ, one is free to go about life casually and selfishly.  When one comes to the full realization that Jesus really is the Lord, there can be only one course of action.  The Apostle Paul, writing what we now understand to be the opening verses of the twelfth chapter of Romans directs “I beseech you therefore brethren by the mercies of God that you present your bodies a living sacrifice wholly acceptable unto God, which is your reasonable service.”  Being sure that Jesus really is the Son of God means we owe Him our full and complete allegiance.  Our life is no longer our own, but His–purchased with a price, the very blood of Christ!  For me, it changes ever thing.  How about for you?  Are you sure that Jesus is the One He claimed to be?  Have you really been convinced in your heart?  How has your conviction about Jesus changed your outlook and actions?  Grace and peace to you from Him who is Love.

~ by brotherfaron on October 9, 2009.

2 Responses to “They Were Sure”

  1. Good word Pastor! When I have had doubts in my life the on thing that gave me confidence again was boiling it all back down to Jesus. He is the center of my faith and from there I was always able to rebuild and have an assurance of my faith.

    • Amen, Brother! It all comes back to Jesus – a theme from our VBS this year and it has proven true again and again. Have a blessed day and thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

 
