When We Shall Know The Truth


The Gospel of John, chapter 8, verse 32 declares that “you will know the truth and the truth will set you free.” We preachers often use that text to boldly declare that when we meet Jesus, we know the Truth, and He (the Truth) sets us free.  Great sermon and easy to preach because we have Jesus’ supporting words in John 14:6 (“Jesus told him, ‘I am the way, the truth, and the life….'”).  I plan to keep preaching that so don’t throw me out with the bath water just yet!  Still, I discovered one of those golden nuggets of Scripture yesterday that made me come to realize there is a powerful and life changing principle in this text of John 8:32 that some of us may have missed.  After all, don’t you know right now some one who is a church going, Bible reading, regularly praying, Christian who is still bound with some kind of chain(s)?  So what’s up with that?  I would ask that you take a look at John 8:32 in its context and in the New International Version.  It turns out that in some translations, like the Holman Christian Standard I quoted first, the first word of verse 32 is either omitted or translated “and”.  In the New International Version, the verse says “THEN you will know the truth and the truth will set you free.”  Do you see it?  This verse and its very powerful and important promise is the second part of one of those “IF/THEN” things that Jesus so often used!  We have to get the “IF” part right before we can be sure of the “THEN” statement!  In this case, Jesus first of all is speaking to “the Jews who had believed in Him” so the original statement did not necessarily apply to unbelievers encountering Christ and being set free.  This great principle was given by the Master Teacher to those who already believed His claims about being the Son of God.  Next, Jesus makes the condition known by stating the “IF” part of the principle:  “IF you hold to my teaching you are really my disciples.”  Please allow me to condense His teaching into that one new commandment that He gives, which is “Love one another as I have loved you.”  So what we have is Jesus saying to those who believe Him when He claims to be God’s Son, IF we hold to His teaching, THEN we will know the truth!  It is as a follower of Christ, an authentic follower of Christ, that the reading of His Word and the revelation of the Holy Ghost reveals genuine truth to us, and that truth is liberating!  For instance, after becoming a Christian, I discovered that had a difficult time with foul language.  I had used curses and words not fit to repeat for so long that it seemed impossible to me to truly clean up my mouth.  I thought it was anger that made me talk that way, but as I followed Christ and learned more about Him, I discovered that my real reason for using profanity was my own insecurity- a sense of not being accepted.  As I followed Christ, I learned through the Holy Ghost that I am accepted in the Beloved and the need to use profanity and bravado to try and emphasize words has left.  The Truth has set me free!  Have you been bound by something even after coming to Christ?  Why not take another look at John 8:31, 32 and rediscover Victory in Jesus!

~ by brotherfaron on October 26, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
