Love without Liking


Webster’s defines love as “an intense affection for another person based on personal of familial ties; a strong affection for or attachment to another person based on regard or shared experiences or interests; an intense attraction to another person based mainly on sexual desire;…an intense emotional attachment;…a strong enthusiasm; etc” .  Like, on the other hand, is defined as “to find attactive or pleasant:ENJOY; to want to have;…to have an inclination or preference;etc”.  Today I reflect on the question as to whether we can obey Christ’s command that we love one another as He has loved us while at the same time we do not like one another.  Can you love without liking?  Many of us are aware that the Bible uses different words for love.  I recall lessons and studies about “filial love” being family love, “erotic love” being the love between husband and wife, and “agape love” being love as God loves.  What about the statement we sometimes here which claims “I may have to love them but that doesn’t mean I have to like them”?  Can we actually love someone as Christ commands without liking them?  My inclination is to say that this is one of those fundamental truths of our faith that we short circuit and then wonder why our faith does not seem to mirror the blessings we read about in the Scriptures.  I lean toward the point of view that IF we are truly going to love someone as Christ has first loved us, THEN we are going to have to like that someone as well.  I believe that Christ not only loves you and me, I believe He likes us!  I believe He wants to be around us; to fellowship with us; to constantly be with us.  Why else would He tell us that He is going to prepare a place for us so that where He is we can be also?  Would you invite someone you don’t even like to spend eternity with you?  So maybe we should take another look at this whole idea of whether we can love without liking.  What do you think?

~ by brotherfaron on November 2, 2009.

2 Responses to “Love without Liking”

  1. Faron,

    This is touching and as you know a struggle to love and like. I love my brother Steve but he is an alcoholic and a mean one at that, when he gets drunk. I love him because he is my brother and I know all the good that is in him but I don’t like to be around him. I would love to spend eternity with him because I know those vices will not be around and he will be that funny kid I grew up with, always with a joke and a smile.

    I have enjoyed your blog. Thank you for this treat for my soul.

Leave a Reply

 
