Whose Supper?


We will observe Communion at Bethlehem East Baptist Church on the fifth Sunday of November, 2009.  The church has habitually celebrated Communion on fifth Sunday’s in the morning worship hour.  In preparation for this one, I was reading in 1 Corinthians 11 and verse 20 caught my attention: “Therefore when you come together in one place, it is not really to eat the Lord’s Supper.”  The Apostle Paul, writing under the inspiration of the Holy Ghost, pointedly notes that believers in the church at Corinth had regressed to a point where their observance of the Lord’s Supper had become woefully irreverent and ineffective.  As I reflected on the passage and in particular this verse, it occurred to me that I, too, am guilty of failing to make the observance of the Lord’s Supper as meaningful as it should be.  I have often let my involvement in leading the congregation through the observance hinder me from truly appreciating what the Lord’s Supper means.  Instead of it being all about Him, I have many times let it be all about me!  What are others thinking as I lead them through the ceremony?  Did I get all the words right as I quoted the Scripture?  Have I demonstrated proper reverence after partaking? etc, etc, etc.  I am praying that the Lord will help me realize the event is not “the Pastor’s Supper” but the “Lord’s Supper”.  I am praying that God will remind me of the awesome demonstration of love that He gave Christ and that He will let both my observance of the event and my reflection of its meaning in my life be truly a reflection of my sincere appreciation of the Lord’s death, until He comes!  After all, whose supper is it anyway?

~ by brotherfaron on November 28, 2009.

4 Responses to “Whose Supper?”

  1. While on an Emmaus Walk, we observe Communion at some point every day, as well as other meetings outside the Walk. It has come to take on a special meaning and importance to me than before. I, like you, seemed to be just going through the motions and not remembering the true significance of the observance. This is truly one of the high and holy experiences we as Christians can have because it is a very visual reminder of the sacrifice our Lord made for us. Thank you for the reminder. Love to you and Nancy.

  2. It is always something of a shock to hear others voice challenges similar to those I face. Too often I take for granted the gifts God has given to help us draw near to Him so He can draw near to us. Prayer, Bible study, the Lord’s Supper, fellowship of believers all fall into this gap sometimes. I thank God He gives you messages to all of us to draw us near to Him, a place I surely want to be.

    • Sorry about the delay in approving the comment! Been a very busy week. I appreciate your thoughts and I count it a blessing that you and Marion are family in Christ.

Leave a Reply

 
