My Portion


Because of the Lord’s faithful love we do not perish, for His mercies never end.  They are new every morning; great is Your faithfulness!  I say:  The Lord is my portion, therefore I will put my hope in Him.”  These words from Lamentations 3:22-24 are an encouragement in the day wherein we live.  As one reads the Lamentations, one finds the description of difficult days in the times of the prophet who penned the words under the anointing of the Holy Spirit.  The days were harsh with trouble on every hand.  Famine, war, terror, hunger, financial ruin and the like made life as difficult as it could be.  So horrific were the times that mothers would even cook the flesh of their own child to survive.  Yet in the middle of such darkness, the prophet found hope.  He realized that his portion, his lot in life, is none other than the Lord of Hosts!  Remembering that our anchor is in the Lord, the prophet boldly declares “The Lord is my portion, therefore I will put my hope in Him.”  May each one of us who struggle with the cares of life in these difficult days be reminded of the same.  The Lord Jesus Christ is our portion.  Therefore, let us put our hope in Him! Because of His faithful love, we will never perish.  In Him we have eternal life!  Selah.

~ by brotherfaron on February 21, 2010.

6 Responses to “My Portion”

  1. It is encouraging to know that just because I am in this world does not mean that I am of this world. I have a Savior who has paid it all for me. This time here is only temporary, whatever comes my way cannot conquer the world like He did. It is in times like these that we are so reminded of His faithfulness. Thank you for your encouragement from the Word.

  2. I am learning daily to put my faith in Him and only Him .If we look to the world or even our spouse to make us complete (no matter how Godly our spouse is) then we will be let down. He will never leave us or forsake us. Praise His Holy Name!

  3. I have finally got to reading your blog, hope to do so more often.I have grown much spiritualy and I strive to continue to do so. We ae still attending church@ Ino and loving it.The Spirit is so alive and I feel free to worship. I put my faith in the Father more than ever. Tell Nancey I love her and hope to be encouraged more by your blogs.Love to you both.

Leave a Reply

 
