Our Light


On an occasion recorded in the fifth chapter of Matthew, verse 16, the Lord Jesus exhorts us to “…let your light shine before men, so that they may see your good works and give glory to your Father in heaven.”  I have always looked at that verse in relation to my “good works”.  In other words, I have always heard, believed, and proclaimed that you and I are expected to “let our light shine before men” through the “good works” that we do.  This morning I saw this exhortation from a different perspective.  Psalm 27:1 says “The Lord is my light and my salvation…”  What if the exhortation of Christ was more directed at me allowing HIM to “shine before men” than it was about me doing “good works”?  To put it another way, I wonder if we might paraphrase Matthew 5:16 to say “in the same way, let ME (CHRIST) radiate through your life in such a way that men can see the radical change I (CHRIST) make in a person’s life, and glorify God for the new creation that you become when your life is my life (CHRIST) living in you”. Think about it:  instead of trying so hard to impress the world with our “good works” (usually meaning religious acts of some kind), what if we focused our efforts on letting Christ truly live in and through us?  May His blessings be yours as you ponder it.

~ by brotherfaron on March 1, 2010.

4 Responses to “Our Light”

  1. Amen!! thank you bro.Faron

  2. It makes sense. Without Jesus we have no light to shine.

Leave a Reply

 
