He Keeps His Word


In my reading through the Bible this year, I have been in the book of Joshua the last few days.  I ran across a couple of statements that reminded me how reliable and faithful our God is.  Joshua 21:45 first caught my eye:  “None of the good promises the Lord had made to the house of Israel failed.  Everything was fulfilled.”  As I reflected on the awesome thought presented in that verse, I ran across a similar text in chapter 23, verse 14: “I am now going the way of all the earth, and you know with all your heart and all your soul that none of the good promises the Lord your God made to you have failed.  Everything was fulfilled for you; not one promise has failed.”  Wow!  Think about the meaning and import of that for a minute.  “Not one promise has failed”!  I am thankful today that you and I can have absolute faith and confidence in the Word of God.  We can be sure that not a single promise of His will go unfulfilled.  I look back over my life and see where I have failed to keep promises I made.  Friends have failed to keep promises they made.  Even family members have missed the mark of keeping promises along the way.  Yet I can not recall a single instance in which I knew that God had promised me something He failed to deliver!  I am renewed in my faith as I realize that there are still promises with their fulfillment yet to come.  For instance, He has promised that He is preparing a place for me and that He will come again and receive me unto Himself that where He is I will be also!  As I reflect on the history of God’s faithfulness at keeping His Word, I realize I need to be ever ready for His return!  How about you?

~ by brotherfaron on April 19, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
