A Matter of Focus


As I was in prayer and meditation this morning, I read from Hebrews and a couple of verses seemed to really draw my attention to how many of us handle our walk with Christ; our journey toward Eternity.  Hebrews 2:1 says “We must therefore pay even more attention to what we have heard, so that we will not drift away.”  Then, Hebrews 4:11 says “Let us then make every effort to enter that rest, so that no one will fall into the same pattern of disobedience.”  After reading these verses and the other texts from Hebrews chapters 1 through 5, it occurred to me that I sometimes take my walk with and relationship to Christ all too much for granted.  Oh, I attend church regularly and I read my Bible and pray (I am, after all, a pastor).  Yet I realized today that I may not truly take the time I should to actually make sure I am not falling “..into the same pattern of disobedience.”  I thought back over how during hunting season my focus was much more on getting meat in the freezer than it was on growing God’s Kingdom.  Then I thought about how easily I become distracted with the affairs of church business and I am consumed with trying to handle those affairs rather than with developing my own relationship with Him.  Perhaps I am not expressing myself as clearly as I would like, but the  point I am trying to make is that I think I (and perhaps many others) would do well to make my walk with and relationship to Christ a more a matter of focus than a mere matter of fact.  Thoughts or comments?

~ by brotherfaron on May 6, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
