Such Love, Such Wondrous Love


Reflecting today on 1 John 3:1 which says “how great is the love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called the children of God.”  The verse reminds me of the opening phrase of John 3:16:  “For God so loved…”  How absolutely amazing the love of God for us, His children!  As far as we know, there is no other creature that God has made “in His image“.  There is no other being God has “carved in the palm of His hand” so that they are always before Him.  It is only us – prideful, sinful, often ungrateful  humanity –  about which the Word of God speaks of such love.  Surely we must be astounded at the measure of God’s love for us!  Think of the extent to which God has gone to demonstrate His love.  He has even given His only begotten Son to save us from our sins.  The Bible tells us that having shown such wondrous love to us already, God would not even withhold any good thing from those who walk uprightly before Him.  The love of God for lost humanity is indeed wonderful.  As the old song says: “such love! Such wondrous love, that God should love a sinner such as I.  How wonderful is love like this!”  May you grow increasingly more aware of His love each day.  Grace.

~ by brotherfaron on November 8, 2010.

3 Responses to “Such Love, Such Wondrous Love”

  1. still loves me and uses me. He gives me a reason to get up every morning, a purpose for living. Jer 29:11. He has a plan and it is to prosper me. Why? John 3:16. Because of His Love, His wonderous Love.

  2. I keep coming back amd chewing on this. There is a lot to digest. Accepting Christ as Lord and Saviour 57 years ago, I have learned a lot about God and His Love this year. In all these years, He has never failed me or let me down. He has never broken a promise. I have more times than I want to remember, but He still loves me and uses me. He gives me a reason to get up every morning, a purpose for living. Jer 29:11. He has a plan and it is to prosper me. Why? John 3:16. Because of His Love, His wonderous Love.

Leave a Reply

 
