Think About His Love


Ever heard the song of that title (Think About His Love)?

In my morning devotions earlier this week, I ran across two questions that have started me on path of digging deeper into my understanding of God.  The first question was “can you name three things God hates?” and I had an easy time with that since I remember a passage from Proverbs (Chapter 6, verse 16 through 19) that specifically list seven things that the Lord hates:  “a proud look, a lying tongue, and hands that shed innocent blood, a heart that devises wicked imaginations, feet that are swift in running to mischief, a false witness that speaks lies, and he that sows discord among the brothers”.  The second question posed more of a challenge in asking “can you name five things God loves?” because I realized that we spend more time focused on the things God doesn’t like.

Of course I know that John 3:16 tells us “God so loved the world…” and I remember the verse in 2 Corinthians (Chapter 9, verse 7) that tells us God loves a cheerful giver.  I found it interesting, though, that I had some degree of difficulty listing other things that the Bible specifically says God loves.  The point the devotional reading of that day made is that we may unintentionally shape our understanding of God towards a God of hate and “no” when we fail to intentionally reflect on the things that God loves.  In other words, if I only think of God as one who is always telling me no and who always points out what He doesn’t like I may not find it easy to fully trust and rely on Him.  I have determined to invest more effort in learning what God loves and focusing my thoughts and actions toward His love and less toward the things He hates.  What about you?

 

~ by brotherfaron on March 11, 2014.

2 Responses to “Think About His Love”

  1. His love is not just an emotion, decision, or action but who He is (1 John 4:8). He loved us then, and He loves us today—regardless of all our mistakes, sins, or struggles. Great message! Thank you Bro. Faron

  2. This is definitely food for thought. Truthfully, Joe and I will be digging deeper on the “love” aspect. God indeed loves a cheerful giver, and He loves us in spite of our failures!!! Thanks for this message!

Leave a Reply

 
