Be Not Dismayed


During my quiet time with God this morning, I was reading Isaiah 41:10 and thought I would share a few thoughts that came to me and challenged my heart. The verse tells us that we are not to fear because God is with us. Then it says that we are not to be dismayed because He is our God. The last part of the verse promises that God will strengthen us, help us and hold us with His right hand. All in all, it’s a great verse to commit to memory. What struck me this morning is the second instruction: “be not dismayed”.

Since the first instruction is “fear not”, I knew that not being dismayed must mean something other than being afraid. The Presence of our Unseen Ally, Who is always with us and will never leave us nor forsake us, should result in us always overcoming fear. That is a challenge in itself. What challenged me even more, though, is that second instruction that calls me to not be dismayed. It had been a while since I actually looked at a definition for the word, so I took time today to do that.

The Merriam-Webster website essentially says that to be dismayed is to be “worried, disappointed or upset”. Applying that to Isaiah 41:10 gave me something to really think about. Not only am I called as a follower of Christ to “fear not”. I am called to NOT be “worried, disappointed or upset”. I failed that test earlier this week! How many times have I allowed circumstance and situation to cause me worry, disappointment and to make me upset? Yet Isaiah 41:10 tells me I am not supposed to do that!

Here’s why— “for I am your God”! If the Presence of the Lord is the basis of my courage (according to the first part of Isaiah 41:10) then the FACT that the Lord is my God should enable me to face any circumstance or situation without “losing it”. What is too difficult for God? What surprises Him or catches Him off guard? What is so overwhelming for Him that He cannot handle it? Nothing! Absolutely nothing! Check out Jeremiah 32:17. Because He is our God, we CAN rest in Him. We CAN find strength and help and we CAN experience His Right Hand holding us up, no matter what comes our way.

I hope you find a blessing in Isaiah 41:10, just as I did. Let me know. Grace.

~ by brotherfaron on April 12, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
