Dying To Live


Galatians 2:20 is a commonly quoted verse of the Bible that declares “I am crucified with Christ, nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ lives in me. And the life that I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me.” I am very thankful for that verse and for what it means. This morning, however, I am reflecting on the verse prior (Galatians 2:19). Just before the Holy Spirit inspired Paul with what we know as verse 20, the same Holy Spirit inspired Paul to write “For through the Law I died to the Law, so that I might live to God.” As I thought about that verse, which is rarely ever mentioned when verse 20 is quoted or cited in sermons and devotionals, I remember that the Bible also tells us “the letter kills, but the Spirit gives life” (2 Corinthians 3:6, latter part of the verse). I thought about how the Law, which we can say for this discussion means the commandments of God which He gave to Moses instructing God’s people about how to live right before God, condemns me to death because I cannot possible comply with all that the Law demands. Try as one might, human frailty is simply not able to perfectly and permanently demonstrate total compliance with the absolute holiness and righteousness of God. So, “through the Law I died to the Law”. Then there is the second part of verse 19 in Galatians, chapter 2- “so that I might live to God”. What came to me as I reflect on God’s message here is that the Law was intended all along to help me die! God never gave the Law to bring life: He gave the Law knowing that the Law would reveal to us our inability to save ourselves and become holy in His sight through the works of our own flesh! All along God planned and purpose that He would demonstrate His amazing love and mercy toward us through His Son, intending His love toward us to motivate us to live our life dedicated to Him! Reviewing and reflecting on the 19th verse certainly gives me a new appreciation for Galatians 2:20. How does it impact your understanding?

~ by brotherfaron on March 10, 2015.

5 Responses to “Dying To Live”

  1. To die is to gain !! Living fulling for Christ !!

  2. Bro Faron
    The subject of the law came to me this morning as I was meditating and thinking about all that is going on the world today. I wasn’t thinking about these verses in particular, although Galatians 2:20 is a verse I often refer to. I love what God has given you in reference to verse 19. You have shed light on my thoughts and concerns from this morning. My concerns are for the many lost people who were searching for something or someone to fill that void they have in their hearts, and having come to the right place (church) they were beat down with laws and regulations, by a group of “religious” people who have no idea what the true intent of the law is. My heart breaks for both of them. The Law was not intended to be a stumbling block for Christians because none of us can live up to it. We need the Law to show us our sin. We need the Law to direct us into righteousness. We need the commands of Christ which are laid all through the Scriptures for our sanctification and holiness, without which no one will see the Lord (Heb. 12:14). Salvation does not depend on keeping the Law, but rather, our salvation is seen in us when we do keep the Law. We all need God’s love and mercy and we have it in Jesus Christ. We can’t continue to beat ourselves and others down with laws and regulations that we can never live up to. It’s time to leave it all at the foot of the Cross! God bless you Brother Faron

  3. This was very fulfilling and thought provoking.

  4. “Through the Law, I died to the Law” each and every single day. It’s an ongoing process, and thanks to His mighty grace, we are given the opportunity to grow in His love and to live a life more like Him. Yes, I fail, but I keep trying == More about Him. Thanks for your insight. I needed that!!!

Leave a Reply

 
