Be Instant


There is a phrase in 2 Timothy 4:2 that says in the King James Version of the Bible “…be instant in season and out of season;…” and I found myself reflecting on the thought “Be instant”. Not surprisingly, I discovered that there are a number of different translations of the phrase in various versions of the Bible. The English Standard Version, the New American Standard Bible and others render the phrase “…be ready in season and out of season…” while the New International Version says “…be prepared in season and out of season…” and other versions offer additional possibilities (persist; stand with diligence; be urgent; be zealous; be earnest). The Message paraphrases 2 Timothy 4:2 this way:

2so proclaim the Message with intensity; keep on your watch. Challenge, warn, and urge your people. Don’t ever quit. Just keep it simple.”

In my devotional time today, I reflected on what it means to “be instant in season and out of season”. The various translations and paraphrase offer some interesting insights and ideas. I came to the conclusion that the Lord desires us to do all that we can to remain ready to share the Truth, the Good News, the Gospel, The Word with another at a moment’s notice. In other words, as a follower of Christ I am to study His Word and store up enough of it in my inner being that I am able to share hope and salvation through Jesus Christ when any opportunity presents itself – whether it seems convenient or not. My study of the verse and prayerful reflection on its meaning have challenged me to improve my readiness for witnessing. What thoughts come to your mind as you read 2 Timothy 4:2 in your favorite Bible?

~ by brotherfaron on April 18, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
