What Reminders Am I Leaving?


The Second Epistle of Peter, chapter 1 verse 15 reads “15Moreover I will be careful to ensure that you always have a reminder of these things after my decease” (New King James Version). The statement brings to my mind the need to be sure that those I care most about “always have a reminder” of the faith that I have in Christ “after my decease”. I want to be sure that my family, my brothers and sisters in Christ, and my friends know where I stand in my relationship with and faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. What reminders “of these things” am I leaving? Do my loved ones see my consistent demonstration of my faith? Does my faithfulness in attending worship services provide a basis for my family and friends to remember after I am gone?

 

I pray that God will help me to establish reminders for posterity. I pray that my life and legacy will point those I care about, as well as others, to Christ.   I pray that I can build a legacy of faithfulness, along with the artifacts such as my prayer journals and my Bibles with study notes in them. I am, like Peter, determined to “ensure that you always have a reminder of these things”. May those who come behind me find me faithful!

~ by brotherfaron on June 15, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
