To engage, or not to engage: that is the question


Consider this scenario for a few minutes. On a trip you find yourself in an airport with some time between flights. In the terminal where you are, a large crowd of international passengers is waiting for delays to clear so they can continue on their journey. The terminal has a display of various artifacts and monuments and pictures from different cultures around the world and a crowd of people are gathered and conversing about the various gods represented. There are carvings and statues and pictures depicting many of the gods from cultures that have existed in the world for centuries. You are casually listening to some of the comments of those who are discussing their thoughts and ideas about these idols and statues. What’s your reaction? Perhaps more pointedly, what action do you take?

Beginning tomorrow evening at 6 PM local time, Mountain View Baptist Church in Wetumpka, Alabama, will begin a Bible study based on a recent book by author David Platt. Our first session will look at a situation not totally unlike the one described above as we consider how followers of Christ should engage, should “counter” the culture around us. Sound interesting? Come join us. We will also meet on Thursday evenings at 6:30 PM for those who cannot attend on Sunday evening.

So what action would you take in the scenario above?

~ by brotherfaron on August 15, 2015.

6 Responses to “To engage, or not to engage: that is the question”

  1. You know, I actually do not know what I would do. When it is a large group I tend to listen and pray for the people. One or two and me, I say something short. For instance a few months ago I was in line at the grocery store and had a conversation with the cashier about purchasing food for the homeless. I said something like, ” I like to help them. I have been blessed because I have never had to go to bed hungry.” The man behind me in line said, “That’s karma.” I said, “No. That’s God” He and I then had a short conversation. But to a room full? I do not know what I would do.

    • I am sure you are not the only one of us who cannot say for sure what we would do. I am thankful the question prompted some thought and reflection. Our session tonight is from Acts 17, so I encourage you to review Paul’s experience as recorded there. Join us in praying that God will give us an authentic zeal for His glory and that God will make us passionate for people’s salvation. Grace to you, my sister! Thanks for the comment!

  2. Well, To be honest, I don’t know what I would do or say — not out loud anyway. Hoping and praying we can be there Thursday night for the discussion.

    • Thanks, Nan! We hope you can join us on Thursday evening as well. You might want to check out Acts chapter 17 to see how the Apostle Paul dealt with a situation of being surrounded by people with different views about life and especially about what they thought were gods. Grace to you in Christ and thanks for the comment!

  3. I know for sure that I would have said nothing in fear of ridicule. Not that I don’t have faith, but out of not wanting to cause a scene. Maybe it is that I wouldn’t know the most inviting conversation to start without being to abrasive. Maybe I am not trusting GOD enough? I hope this course with enable me to be more ZEALOUS….. What a great opening night at Mountain View Baptist Church. Gods presence was with us tonight for sure, and he spoke to me through Brother Faron who ROCKED it out of the park tonight!! Love ya brother!

    • Thanks, Jason! God was surely moving in the study time at Mountain View and I appreciate your kind words. The scenario is intended only to provoke us to think about our response and that is what you seem to have done. It is God in us who must move us to action. It is His Holy Spirit that fills our mouth with His Word when we, in surrender and obedience to the Lord of Heaven and Earth, are emboldened by the love and compassion of Christ in our hearts. Praying with you and the folks involved in the study that God will make us zealous for His glory and that God will make us passionate for people’s salvation! Blessings and grace to you, my friend!

Leave a Reply

 
