Standing In God’s Power


After concluding the Bible study at Mountain View Baptist Church based on Counter Culture by David Platt, Nancy and I are excited to begin our service with Lake Pointe Baptist Church, Dadeville, Alabama, this weekend. As the Lord delays His return, I plan to share a message from 1 Corinthians 2:1-5 with a focus on standing in God’s power rather than in human wisdom.  As I think about the challenges of working with God’s people to build a church, I am reminded that God’s work is not accomplished by “might nor by power”. God’s work is accomplished by His Spirit. I pray that God will grant us the wisdom to discern the leading of His Spirit in doing the work He has for us. I pray that we will be sensitive to the leading of the Holy Spirit in our witnessing and in our sharing. When God’s work is done His way, by His Spirit, He gets all the glory.

Let us never think we can stand against the adversary because we have credentials and have some level of experience.  Let us never think that we can accomplish the Lord’s work because we have achieved success or fame.  Let us not stand in our achievement, but let us always look to the Lord Jesus Christ for His power in us.  Let us stand on the power of God rather than on our own merit.

~ by brotherfaron on October 16, 2015.

5 Responses to “Standing In God’s Power”

  1. Bro. Faron, I am still mulling over the book Counter Culture and what He means me to do in my life. Your comments tonight make sense. Praying, with my eyes open, instead of plowing ahead when I have no sense of direction. Again. There is so very much that is needed. I need to do MY work as HE directs. Thank you. And remember that I continue to pray for both of you.

    • Nancy and I think of you often and we pray for God’s will in your life. I appreciate your feedback and comments to the blog and I pray that God will work in and through you as you study the book and Bible verses behind the book’s content. May God help us to faithfully serve Him as we seek to influence the world for Christ. By the way, I begin serving as pastor of a church plant in the Walnut Hill area just south of Dadeville, Alabama, tomorrow. Please do keep us in your prayers as we join God in His work there. Grace to you, my sister!

  2. Planting a new church. That is exciting. The church where Jesus saved me was a “mission” of 1st Baptist in Albuquerque, NM. It was walking distance from our home. If it had not been, I would not have been able to attend most of the time. Sure am glad they planted that new church and Jesus found me. And I know you and Nancy are looking forward to this new church. I will be praying.

  3. Such great teaching. Prayers for you and Nancy as you embrace this new adventure with God. Love you both.

Leave a Reply

 
