His Presence Changes Everything


Henry and Richard Blackaby’s book Flickering Lamps states in chapter three “…There are no pessimists in the resurrected Christ’s presence!…Why? Because…His presence changes everything…”.  As I reflected this morning on the presence of Christ, I was reminded of how the Apostle Paul sums up the gospel in 1 Corinthians 15:1-11.  As recorded in those verses, the gospel is that Jesus Christ, the Son of God, died for our sins; was buried; and on the third day He was raised from the dead as the Word of God declared beforehand.  When I think about the gospel in this way, I come to the conclusion that it is the resurrection of Christ that “changes everything”.

If Christ only died for my sin, I can come to the realization that a great price has been paid on my behalf.  Yet, if Christ only died then He would be just another martyr – just another person who believed so strongly in a cause that He was willing to lay down His life for that cause.  I do not in any way suggest that the atoning death of Christ is of little or no value.  On the contrary, I am very thankful for the mercy and grace of God demonstrated in the love of God through the death of Christ on the cross as payment in full for my sin and for the sins of the whole world (see 1 John 2:2).  The statement in Flickering Lamps reminds me that Christ not only died for my sins: He arose!

The point made in the book is that the presence of the risen Christ creates a completely different way of seeing things.  Since Christ is indeed risen, I must realize that He has conquered every enemy, even death.  As the One who has triumphed over all, the risen Christ is Lord of all.  When that reality becomes truth in my life, it surely does “change everything”!  What have you concluded about Christ?  Just a martyr or Risen Lord of Lords and King of Kings?

~ by brotherfaron on February 17, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
