Who Walks With You?


You may have heard the song “In The Garden” written by Charles A. Miles in 1913.  The hymn is a popular one in many churches and is sometimes sung at funerals as well as in worship service.  I was thinking about the theme of that hymn recently.  The refrain tells us “He walks with me and He talks with me, and He tells me I am His own”.  I frequently hear and read things about our walk with Christ.  As I thought about this old hymn, I pondered the question who walks with me?

I have been blessed in this life to have known and still know people who “walk with me”.  There are those who have such a relationship with me that I am assured of their company and of their companionship and support all along the journey of life.  My wife is one who “walks with me”.  In the good times and in the times we have found life to be difficult, she has been right there with me.  She walks with me.

There are others who “walk with me”.  I could tell you about my current Chairman of Deacons, a godly man who “walks with me” as we serve the body of Christ at Lake Pointe.  I could tell you about my Church Planter mentor who regularly connects with me and encourages me in both prayer and fellowship.  I could tell you about my brothers, Lee and Benny.  Yes, I have been blessed to know those who “walk with me”.

Still, the greater blessing is the wonderful assurance that every morning before daybreak I find the Son of God, Himself, waiting to meet me in a time of prayer and fellowship like no other.  I come to my “garden” (actually, my study at the house) alone “while the dew is still on the roses”.  In the quiet and stillness of those pre-dawn hours, I discover that there is indeed One who “walks with me and talks with me and tells me that I am His own”.  It’s a joy for which I am very thankful.  Have you discovered that joy yet?  Who walks with you?

~ by brotherfaron on June 10, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
