Proverbs Challenge, October 2016 – Day Two


Join us as we read one chapter of the book of Proverbs each day and post our reflection/thoughts.  We’re on Day Two, so there’s time to easily catch up if you missed the first day.

The second day of the October, 2016, Proverbs Challenge finds me reflecting on a “big” word found three times in the opening four verses of the second chapter of Proverbs.  It’s the word “if”.

My son, IF you accept my words…furthermore, IF you will call out…IF you seek it like silver…”

 These three occurrences of the word “if” are followed by a powerful “then” statement found in verse 5: “THEN you will understand the fear of the Lord and discover the knowledge of God”.  As I think about how God is speaking to my life through the second chapter of Proverbs, I realize that many of God’s provisions and promises for my life are linked to God’s “IF” clauses that establish conditions for me to grow in my relationship with Him.  I know from the bible that I am saved “by grace, through faith” and that my salvation is not the result of my works.  My salvation is provided by God’s redemptive work on my behalf through Jesus Christ, the Son of God.  What this second chapter of Proverbs seems to remind me of today is once I am saved, much of what God has for me in the new life comes through the “if, then” declarations of the bible.

Today, I am praying that God will help me more faithfully accept His words and store them in my heart (Proverbs 2:1).  I am praying that God will motivate me and enable me to call out with my voice for insight and understanding (Proverbs 2:3).  I am praying that God will cause me to seek understanding and the knowledge of God like I would seek after hidden treasure (Proverbs 2:4).  According to the declaration that opens Proverbs 2, it is then that I will better discover the fear (holy reverence and awe) of God and better understand the knowledge (revelation, experiential encounter) of God.

~ by brotherfaron on October 2, 2016.

2 Responses to “Proverbs Challenge, October 2016 – Day Two”

  1. Those If-then statements nod back to chapter 1 to remind us that obtaining wisdom from God is not a passive thing. We are required to seek, ask, believe and trust God for it. Chapter 2 also tells us that this wisdom will enter out heart, discretion will guard us to deliver us from the way of evil, from the man who speaks perverse things, from those who walk in the ways of darkness. As I think of some of the recent uprisings of violence due to “injustice” of some kind, I am reminded by the Lord that only He can give wisdom and knowledge to discern justice. Only He can give us that sound wisdom that we need to speak of righteousness and justice. We cannot have pure, true justice or walk uprightly without that knowledge and understanding that comes from His mouth. It is my prayer that I will be still and quiet in His presence daily to receive that understanding so I can love my neighbor properly.

    • So very true: we need the wisdom that only comes from God to clearly discern what is just. Thanks for continuing to share with us as God speaks through His Word.

Leave a Reply

 
