Proverbs Challenge, October 2016 – Day Six


The sixth chapter of Proverbs includes more than one group of verses which address a particular theme or themes that lead to wisdom and avoid folly.  In the bible I happened to use this morning, the chapter is labeled Warnings Against Folly.  As I read through the chapter and reflected on the various words of counsel (deliver yourself like a gazelle from indebtedness; be industrious like the ant; watch out for – avoid – the wicked man; the seven things the Lord despises; etc.), I noticed a couple of verses that seemed to stand out to me.

20 My son, observe the commandment of your father and do not forsake the teaching of your mother; 21 Bind them continually on your heart; Tie them around your neck. 22 When you walk about, they will guide you; When you sleep, they will watch over you; And when you awake, they will talk to you. 23 For the commandment is a lamp and the teaching is light; And reproofs for discipline are the way of life [Proverbs 6:20-23, New American Standard Bible].

Those verses reminded me that the teachings of my mother and father seem more and more wise to me as I grow older.  When I was a child, I was sure that neither of them had any idea what they were talking about!  I thought all they wanted to do was spoil my fun and keep me from doing things I thought I would enjoy.  Now, after years of life and experience, it becomes more and more clear to me that my father and my mother were trying to keep me from harm and trying to guide me along the best path so that I could benefit from their experiences without having to learn the same lessons the hard way.  Maybe I should have read Proverbs 6 and heeded its instruction!

~ by brotherfaron on October 6, 2016.

2 Responses to “Proverbs Challenge, October 2016 – Day Six”

  1. This chapter is full of short commands and warnings. But in the middle of it, the writer reminds us once again to keep these teachings very close to us; bind them continually on your heart, tie them around your neck. I instantly thought of these big, clunky necklaces that seem to be the fashion these days. They are very prominent on a woman’s neck. Sometimes it is the main focal point of her outfit. As I am thinking of the parallels to chapter 6, I can imagine if we really did hang these teachings around our necks! They would be very obvious to those who see us. We would not likely forget about them during the day, since they would be heavy and swinging about with our every movement. That is the point, isn’t it? For example, wouldn’t it be good for us, if when we are tempted to lie, that we reach up to our necks and fidget with the fact hanging there that lying lips are an abomination to God? How much easier would it be to avoid lying when such an obvious reminder is there? Even so, how much more a reminder is the Holy Spirit living in us, yet we silence Him because we think no one can see Him hanging around our necks?

Leave a Reply

 
