Proverbs Challenge, October 2016 – Day 8


I am told that the number 8 is symbolic of new beginnings in bible numerology.  That could mean today is a new beginning for you if you have not yet jumped in on the October, 2016, Proverbs Challenge.  How about making the leap?  Commit to reading one chapter from the book of Proverbs each day through the end of the month, reflect and pray about how God is speaking to you through His Word, then post a comment to this blog with your insights and thoughts?  Tell your friends and let’s learn together and share the thoughts God gives each of us!  Here’s my entry for today.

Wisdom personified – that is the way some commentators label the eighth chapter of Proverbs.  Indeed, there are a number of human traits ascribed to wisdom throughout the chapter.  I have also read commentary that suggests wisdom as described in the chapter actually refers to Christ Himself.  This morning, however, as I reflected on the eighth chapter of Proverbs I noticed verses 30 and 31 in the Holman Christian Standard Bible read this way –

“I was a skilled craftsman(or confidante) beside Him. I was His delight every day, always rejoicing before Him. I was rejoicing in His inhabited world, delighting in the human race.

Thinking on those words, I remembered how one of the central themes of the bible is God’s love for man.  A very well-known verse found in the gospel of John, chapter 3 and verse 16, tells us that God loved the world so much that He gave His Only Begotten Son that anyone who believes in Him would not perish but have eternal life (paraphrase of John 3:16).  I began to see Proverbs 8 as an account of how God had a plan – the wisdom – from before the foundation of the world.  I rejoiced to know that God’s plan – wisdom itself – has always been to create for Himself a people who experience His amazing love and respond by loving Him in return.  It gives me comfort to think that God is not out there somewhere trying to figure things out as we go.  Rather, His plan was “…formed before ancient times, from the beginning, before the earth began”.

I closed my devotion time with the reminder in the closing verses of Proverbs 8 that the person who finds the wisdom (plan) of God finds life and obtains favor with God, but the one who sins against such wisdom harms himself and loves death.  I am so glad to be able to know the plan and person of God in Jesus Christ, the Lord!

~ by brotherfaron on October 8, 2016.

One Response to “Proverbs Challenge, October 2016 – Day 8”

  1. In this world of seemingly endless strife and turmoil, I am comforted by verses 22-31. This paragraph reminds me of the beginning, of the time before creation, and how God must have originally designed the world, and us – to be a delight–His delight. How I long for that to be true of me today! I want to seek wisdom and find her. I want to meet her “at the gates” and hear those noble things. I want to hear the straightforward, righteous instruction from her. I think it is interesting that the same phrase in verse 17, “those who diligently seek me will find me” is also said of God Himself.

    Verses 32 – 36 sound like the Beatitudes, with “blessed” statements. Will will be happy, spiritually prosperous, to be envied if we “keep wisdom’s ways”, and “listen to her.” For those who read this post, this is my prayer for you.

Leave a Reply

 
