Proverbs Challenge, October 2016 – Day Thirteen


We are approaching the half-way mark in the October, 2016, Proverbs Challenge.  I pray that God has been working in your life as He has in mine.  Intentionally reflecting on the words of wisdom from the chapter of the day has helped me discover a fresh desire for more God’s Word.  How is the Challenge impacting you?

Reading chapter thirteen in the book of Proverbs this morning, taking time to reflect on the meaning of the couplets as I read them, I could not help but notice the first part of verse 10.  In the New International Version of the bible, it reads “where there is strife, there is pride”.  The statement brings to mind something I heard years ago that went like this: it takes two to make a fight.  I thought about how a quarrel, especially one in the church, begins when two people disagree about something and neither can find the grace to yield to the other point of view or some reasonable compromise.  Why is that?

According to the wisdom in the first part of Proverbs 13:10, it is because there is pride.  That character trait that declares to our ego how our position is the only right position.  Pride leaves no room for compromise.  Pride causes us to cling tightly to our stance and issue ultimatums (i.e. “if they don’t do this I will find another church!”).  Yes, when you find strife, you are certainly going to find pride.  The bible also warns that pride goes before destruction and a haughty spirit before a fall (Proverbs 16:18).  How I pray that God will help His people realize that strife is evidence of pride and then give us grace to humble ourselves and be reconciled before we fall!

~ by brotherfaron on October 13, 2016.

2 Responses to “Proverbs Challenge, October 2016 – Day Thirteen”

  1. This is the day to find one of those verses I’ve known but could not remember its “address”. Verse 24 says, “He who spares his rod HATES his son, but he who loves him disciplines him DILIGENTLY” (emphasis mine). I have talked to many young parents and they are caving in to the belief of our present culture that it is wrong to spank your child. I haven presented several arguments for my case (to spank) and listened to their against it. I remind them that sometimes the most effective instruction comes through a bit of pain, that spanking is not beating, and is not all day, every day. I never wanted my children to be those people would dread seeing coming. I wanted people to love them as I do, so I taught them how to behave. Sometimes a quick correction of inappropriate behavior is in order.

    God’s discipline comes to us in varying forms. I’ve always said that I want to be the kind of child that will be corrected by a good talking to. Sometimes I am hardheaded, stubborn and willful and need that divine spanking. That is when God “lowers the boom.” His discipline is just, right and true. Most of all, it is necessary. If my desire is to truly become more like Christ, then I must yield to His way, His word and submit myself to Him. Proverbs is giving me situation after situation of how wisdom behaves, thinks, responds. I can order my life so that God can correct me through His word, and not His rod.

    • We all need the discipline our Heavenly Father bestows. He has given us instruction in how to raise godly children and our failure to follow His guidance has give us a generation or two of children who lack respect for authority and who have grown to expect that they will always be able to have things their way. The consequences are evident in our broken world. Thankfully, we are all still children when it comes to things of God and He is still able and willing to discipline those He loves.
      Thanks for your insights and thoughts!

Leave a Reply

 
