Proverbs Challenge, October 2016 – Day Fifteen


Today the verse that seems to grab my attention is verse  twenty-eight:  “The heart of the righteous ponders how to answer, but the mouth of the wicked pours out evil things.”  Sometimes I notice that our world seems to be so quick to speak evil.  Seemingly, young people start earlier and earlier in life learning to use foul language as means of attempting to show strong feelings or emphasize points.  Here in America, our nation is currently enduring perhaps the most vulgar, evil-speaking, mud-slinging election in our history.  Even when asked if they could say anything positive about their opponent, both presidential candidates struggled to find something good (or at least, not evil) about the other.  The verse from Proverbs 15 that grabbed my attention today declares that this type of language – evil things – comes from a wicked heart.

The contrast is the heart of the righteous, which ponders how to answer.  In other words, a person who has found the righteousness of God through Christ will take time to think before they speak.  They will seek to find ways to say what needs to be said so that the meaning is clear and God is pleased and honored.  Righteous people, those who have been transformed by the compassion and mercy and grace of Christ, have learned to be “quick to hear and slow to speak”.  They speak words that are life rather than words that hurt and wound, even to the extent of death to a person’s character.

So the question that comes to mind in the Proverbs Challenge today is what does my speech reveal about my heart and my standing with God?  May God help me to take time to think before I speak!

~ by brotherfaron on October 15, 2016.

One Response to “Proverbs Challenge, October 2016 – Day Fifteen”

  1. The first part of this chapter is talking about our mouths again. The Lord knew we would need this repeated a lot, so here it is again! In this day of road rage and hot heads, isn’t verse 1 refreshing? It is good to know how to respond to these people, even if “these people” refers to us.

    I know how quick I can get myself worked up over a situation simply by continuing to fuss about it. Things get blown out of proportion, feelings hurt, conclusions are jumped to, and pretty soon, out of my mouth comes billowing smoke from that hot temper! Not only can I lower my blood pressure by speaking gentle words to myself, I can help others see reason, by not jumping on their bandwagon of slander and anger. Cooler heads prevail!

    Verse 3 also reminds me that the “eyes of the Lord are in every place”. Whether in my car, in my own home, or in my heart, when I think no one can see or hear my bad attitude or reaction, the Lord is there, putting out fires and sweeping out the ashes of past blazes. Father, help me to speak wisely and prudently to spread Your love and wisdom, not my own fleshly opinion.

Leave a Reply

 
