Proverbs Challenge, October 2016 – Day Sixteen


The sixteenth chapter of the book of wise sayings known as Proverbs in the bible wraps the sovereignty of God around a number of couplets which contrast the wicked and the wise.  There are a number of sayings worth remembering.  For example, Proverbs 16:9 tells us a man’s mind plans his way but the Lord directs his steps.  Verse 3 tells us to commit our ways to the Lord and our plans will succeed.  Proverbs 16:25 reminds us there is a way that seems right to man but its end is death.  The chapter is filled with wise sayings we would do well to commit to memory and practice.

This morning, I am particularly reflecting on Proverbs 16:5 (Everyone who is proud in heart is an abomination to the Lord; Assuredly, he will not be unpunished.).  It happens that I am preaching through a series from the Gospel of Matthew and in a recent sermon we looked at the necessity of exchanging our pride for humility in order to know Christ as He desires us to know Him.  This fifth verse of Proverbs 16 brings back to my mind the content of that message.  Pride in our heart, arrogance and the thought that our life is our own and God has no right to it, is an abomination to the Lord.  The One who loved us so much that He gave His very Son as a sacrifice for us to give us eternal life through faith in God’s Son has no place in His heart for those who are so proud and arrogant they refuse His grace.  Thus, the declaration “he (the proud, the arrogant) will not go unpunished”.

My prayer today is that God will help me grow in humility, learning to be more and more like Christ in surrendering my own will to that of my Heavenly Father.  I pray that you, too, will choose humility rather than pride.  Grace to you in Christ, the Lord.

~ by brotherfaron on October 16, 2016.

2 Responses to “Proverbs Challenge, October 2016 – Day Sixteen”

  1. Today the challenge seems to be centered around making plans. Man’s plans are in his heart, the ways of a man are clean in his own sight, plans committed to the Lord will be established, the mind of a man plans his way. The contrasts in these first several verses remind me of just where the success of plans will come; from the Lord. He will provide an answer, He will weigh motives, He will make our enemies be at peace with us, He will direct our steps.

    Sometimes we only think of making plans as a long term objective, but consider applying these verses to each day. When we keep our plan-making ever before the Lord, we will not have a wasted day, a missed opportunity, or endless frustration. We can know that He is directing our steps, always adjusting our plans according to His divine purpose.

    Help me be sensitive to Your guidance Lord, and follow Your plan every day.

    • Sometimes I think God smiles when I offer Him my “To Do” list for the day. I know He expects me to plan my steps so I can “redeem the time”. I am equally sure He is amused by my lack of insight into the steps He has ordained for me and I am confident He delights in showing me His plan! So glad He leads me in His way and not my own!

Leave a Reply

 
