Proverbs Challenge, October 2016 – Day Eighteen


Wow!  The eighteenth day of the October, 2016, Proverbs Challenge is already underway!  The month is rushing by so fast, I can hardly believe we are just some two weeks away from completing the challenge.  My prayer for you is that the habit you have begun of reading one chapter from Proverbs each day and taking time to intentionally focus on something God reveals to you will continue in the months ahead.  Wisdom is far better than folly and the fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom!

Today, I am once again reminded of Proverbs 18:10 which tells us that the name of the Lord is a strong tower and the righteous run to it and are safe.  What a wonderful and comforting thought to know that, as a follower of Christ, I have the awesome privilege of running to the name of the Lord and finding there a safe refuge.  When I read this verse and when I face significant challenge in life, I remember that God invites me to find that safety and comfort He alone offers.  I speak His name and in running to His name, I find the promise of His protection never fails.

Father, God, Jehovah, Creator, Sustainer, Ruler, Righteous Judge, the Almighty, Jesus, Immanuel, Savior, Anointed One, Bright and Morning Star, and the list goes on.  Do you know His name?  Have you studied His Word to discover the many facets of His name?  I urge you  to do so again.  His name IS a strong tower.  You’ll find safety there.  It’s His promise!

~ by brotherfaron on October 18, 2016.

3 Responses to “Proverbs Challenge, October 2016 – Day Eighteen”

  1. This chapter is about our mouths again. There is so much to learn about how our words can either help or hurt others. Several verses talk about the foolishness of blabbing before listening, only wanting to hear our own opinion, the hurt that comes from foolish words. Others speak to the depth of our being that words travel to, and the lasting effect of them. Verse 21 says, “Death and life are in the power of the tongue.”

    Toby Mac has a song called, “Speak Life”. It addresses these very issues. Words are so very powerful, especially those spoken from frustration, anger or hurt. Verse 19 tells us that “a brother offended is harder to win than a strong city.” That is pretty serious. We flippantly make comments to people trying to be cool, or liked, and we don’t realize the effect our words have on people.

    Father, help me to choose my words carefully, and speak life!

  2. This chapter brings to life the fact that a generous man has many friends. “Every man is a friend to him who gives gifts”. My mind immediately thought of my son, who is generous, sometimes to a fault, but also to stories I have heard about lottery winners. Suddenly, they discover all these new “relatives” coming our of the woodwork! Shortly, though, we often hear they are financially worse off than before their sudden windfall.

    Verse 17 tells of genuine generosity. It says, “He who is gracious to a poor man lends to the LORD, and He will repay him for his good deed.” I have often wrestled with how to give to the poor, who is really poor, do they deserve it, we work hard for a living, blah, blah, blah. Proverbs sums up the reason for my graciousness toward those who are poor. I am actually giving to the LORD, and He will repay my good deed. It is not for me to decide whether someone deserves my graciousness or not. If Jesus were physically standing in front of me, I would go out of my way to lavish gifts and attention on Him. How much more for those who are physically near me?

    These verses give me pause to consider how little I actually do for the poor. Oh, I donate unwanted items to thrift stores, but is that being “gracious” to them? O Lord, help me be more gracious to my neighbor.

Leave a Reply

 
