Proverbs Challenge, October 2016 – Day Twenty-Two


Chapter 22 is another section of Proverbs brimming with wise sayings.  Today, however, I found verse 28 particularly interesting (Do not move the ancient boundary
Which your fathers have set.
).  Without resorting to a bible dictionary or concordance to look up the phrase “ancient boundary”, I simply gave thought to a couple of different ways I could take the meaning of the saying.  First, the obvious intent is that ancient boundaries, property lines, border lines, should be honored.  I recall more than one incident I have either known of or somehow had connection to in which “ancient boundary” lines were not honored.  Instead, someone encroached on another’s property and trouble invariably resulted.  So, Proverbs 22:28 could simply warn us against falling into the trouble that arises out of violating the boundary lines that have been passed down from generation to generation.

Another thought that came to me speaks of a different kind of boundary.  In fact, the entire book of Proverbs can be thought of as establishing boundary lines for the author’s son.  The writer warns the reader against joining forces with evil doers, setting a boundary line in the kind of friends his son should choose.  The writer warns against being lazy, setting a boundary line between industrious activity and idleness.  In other words, perhaps the writer of Proverbs is again exhorting the reader to abide by the wise sayings contained in the collection when he says “do not move the ancient boundary which your fathers have set”.  Maybe we could interpret that to mean we should honor godly heritage passed on to us by our fathers in the faith.  Maybe we should hold fast to the standards and not destroy or move them through compromise.

My prayer today is that God would help me to recognize the wisdom of maintaining the boundaries He has established in His Word.  How about you?  Are there some boundary lines you need to maintain in your life?

~ by brotherfaron on October 22, 2016.

2 Responses to “Proverbs Challenge, October 2016 – Day Twenty-Two”

  1. Three verses have captured my attention from this chapter. Verses 6, 19 and 28. They seem to go together; train up a child, I have taught you today (to trust in the Lord), and do not move the boundaries set by your father. As a new “empty-nester” I have spent some time reflecting on my parenting, my children as they are beginning their adult lives and families. I would love to write that I made all the right decisions, always chose reason, and never got angry with my children. But that is just not so. Turns out, I’m a human who too often chose to react rather than be proactive.

    As I am in the quiet most evenings now, I can put my trust in the Lord for He is faithful and just. He is full of compassion and mercy and as I hear from each of my children about the mundane, everyday lives that are developing, I will always try to point them to the Lord who is always with them and will order their steps. He will watch over them better than I ever could.

    • It can be difficult to actually trust the Lord with our children, and even more so when they leave the nest to make their own homes and families. My mother had to let me go and pray in faith without seeing much evidence of answered prayer for some ten years. In the end, however, God’s Word proves true and today God has drawn me into His amazing grace. Praying for you to know the same peace my mother found in trusting the Lord with the children. God is always faithful and will do what He said He would do!

Leave a Reply

 
