Proverbs Challenge, October 2016 – Day Twenty-Three


As we round the turn for the home stretch in our Proverbs Challenge for October, 2016, I must note the wisdom of the closing verses in the twenty-third chapter (Proverbs 23:29-35).  So many lives have been ruined, utterly destroyed, by strong drink.  Would to God that men and women would heed the warnings of these verses and choose to not start down the road of drinking strong drink.  Once a person begins to yield to the allure of alcoholic beverage, whether it is beer, wine or liquor, they are in danger of becoming enslaved by it.  The tragedy is that the strong drink is deceptive and many begin their ruinous journey thinking they can handle the drink.  Remember the warning for Proverbs 20:1?  Be wise and don’t be deceived by strong drink so you avoid winding up as described in the last verses of Proverbs 23.

That aside, my attention today is directed to verses 17 and 18 of Proverbs 23 (17 Do not let your heart envy sinners, but live in the fear of the Lord always. 18 Surely there is a future, and your hope will not be cut off.)  One of the saddest things I observe in life is the people who envy those who do not know the Lord as savior.  They look at the way such people live in pursuing the pleasures and position and power of the world and wish they, too, could live that way.  Far better to choose life by following the way of Christ always.  Living for Christ may not always be easy and in some cases may cost us the loss of what we think might bring happiness.  The reality, however, is that only in following Christ will we find the future with hope.  In fact, we have God’s promise on that in Jeremiah 29:11 (11 For I know the plans that I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope.).  Let’s commit afresh to not allow ourselves to envy those who do not know Christ.  Let’s choose instead to fear the Lord always.  Amen?

~ by brotherfaron on October 23, 2016.

2 Responses to “Proverbs Challenge, October 2016 – Day Twenty-Three”

  1. As someone whose father was not present for most of my life, verses 10-12 bring me great comfort. I had a loving family, but not a father. There was no contact after age 12, and as an adult the few attempts I made to contact him were of no avail. So, God became my Father, and I am still learning to rely on Him plead my case, to protect me, to take up for me.

    Verse 17 also speaks to me today. It says, “Do not LET your heart envy sinners.” To me, this implies that in my flesh, my heart will want to be like sinners; to have what they have; to live seemingly in freedom to do what I want without any guilt. At least that is what it looks like on the outside. Before I was saved, I had become very good at justifying my actions. I still struggle with this sometimes now. I must take control of my heart, my feelings, and operate from wisdom and understanding. Thank God for His discipline and correction. I hope I will always have those guilty feelings when I sin and need to repent. We must keep our eyes on the future and the righteousness that God is forming in us.

    Father, help me get wisdom and instruction and understanding. Let me live it!

Leave a Reply

 
