Proverbs Challenge, October 2016 – Day Twenty-Four


Since becoming a Church Planter, God has been working in my heart to bring to the light the urgency of evangelism.  As I considered Proverbs 24 this morning, my attention was directed to verses eleven and twelve where we are exhorted to “deliver those who are being taken away to death and those who are staggering to slaughter”.  The writer pleads “Oh, hold them back!”.  My first thought as I read the eleventh verse was about abortion.  I thought of all the innocent lives that are terminated in the womb of mothers before ever seeing their first light.  I began to ponder whether this verse in Proverbs 24 could be advocating against abortion, and well it might be.  However, as I read verse twelve, it began to be evident to me that the Spirit of God is warning against an even greater calamity and slaughter.

“Those who are being taken away to death” seemed to cry out to me as being those in this world who are following a path that seems right to them but whose end is death.  In more than one place, Proverbs speaks of such a path (Proverbs 14:12 and 16:25).  The phrase “those who are staggering to slaughter” reminds me of how Jesus spoke of the way that leads to destruction being broad and His saying that many people pass through the gate to destruction (Matthew 7:13).  As I read verse twelve, I began to grow more convinced that God is calling those who would be wise to rescue the lost from the path of destruction.  Notice the presumed excuse that will be offered when judgment comes: “If you say, ‘See, we did not know this’”.  How many who claim to be followers of Christ today try to pretend they do not know that many (the lost on the broad path) are bound for destruction?  How many simply turn a blind eye to the plight of those who do not have life in Christ?  I am praying today for God to help me heed the warnings in the latter part of Proverbs 24:12 – “Does He not consider it who weighs the hearts? And does He not know it who keeps your soul? And will He not render to man according to his work?”.

Father God, please forgive me of my callousness toward the lost.  Remove from me the heart of selfishness and give me a heart of compassion and love for those who do not know You.  Help me to deliver them by sharing with them the Way of Christ.  Help me be a vessel of honor in Your service, oh Lord!

~ by brotherfaron on October 24, 2016.

2 Responses to “Proverbs Challenge, October 2016 – Day Twenty-Four”

  1. Well, I was happily reading today about how good it is to be a wise man, how the God is going to deal with the unrighteous, how good it is to eat honey! I was thinking to myself, “Yep, they are going to get it one day.” Then I get to verse 17….”Do not rejoice when your enemy falls, and do not let your heart be glad when he stumbles…..”

    An exhortation again to reign control over our own hearts. We tend to get intrenched in an “us against them” mindset. But Jesus calls us to love our neighbor, pray for our enemy, bless those who curse us, etc. It is a terrible thing to fall into the hands of the Almighty God. We should “hold them back from staggering to slaughter” by exhibiting the love of Christ.

    Keep in mind that when we become friends with the world, we make ourselves an enemy of God. However, as we want God to be merciful to us in our times of rebellion, we should be merciful to those who have become or behaved as an enemy toward us.

    Father, be longsuffering toward me, as I learn to love and be longsuffering to those who are against me.

    • I started working yesterday on a series for probably the February timeframe about “Love”. From a comment in a discussion with other pastors, I picked up the seed thought of “loving God; loving the brother; loving our neighbor; and loving our enemy”. The first three are not nearly as challenging as the fourth! Thanks for you participation and insight into the wise sayings in Proverbs.

Leave a Reply

 
