Proverbs Challenge, October 2016 – Day Twenty-eight


Today’s reflection in the twenty-eighth chapter of Proverbs led me to verse nine – “He who turns away his ear from listening to the law, even his prayer is an abomination.”  It is worth noting that God has inspired the writer to capture this statement.  When we turn away our ear from listening to the law, our very prayer becomes an abomination to God!  In other words, when we reject the offer of life in Christ God provides, we cannot even lift acceptable prayer to God.  God loves us and cares for us so much that He doesn’t even listen to those who ignore His love, grace and mercy.

My prayer is that God will help me listen more and more to His Word.  I am asking Him to help me turn my ear to His law, obeying Him in all things and seeking His will in my life day by day, moment by moment.  I want, I need my prayers to be acceptable to God!  I need to know He listens and hears when I pray.  So I need to commit to listening to what He says.  How about you?

~ by brotherfaron on October 28, 2016.

2 Responses to “Proverbs Challenge, October 2016 – Day Twenty-eight”

  1. I love verse 13! The writer is reminding me of how important it is to confess and repent of my sins.

    Too often we try to ignore or explain away our sins. God calls for us to confess and forsake them. We cannot prosper when we are concealing our sin. God knows our hearts. Sometimes we are afraid that something bad will happen when we confess, but God promises compassion in this verse.
    This scripture goes along with 1 John 1:9 which says, if we confess our sins, He is faithful and righteous to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.

    That sounds like the kind of compassion I want and need!

Leave a Reply

 
