Proverbs Challenge, October 2016 – Day Twenty-nine


On this twenty-ninth day of the October, 2016, challenge in Proverbs, I am reflecting on Proverbs 29:13.  In several translations, the verse reads “the poor man and the oppressor have this in common-the Lord gives sight to the eyes of both”.  I found it interesting that the Darby Bible Translation uses the terms “the indigent and the oppressor”.  I am also reminded that we have seen this wise saying, or at least something very similar to it, previously.  Proverbs 22:2 reads “the rich and the poor have a common bond. The Lord is the maker of them all”.

It comes to mind as I think about this saying that God rules and reigns over all people.  Sometimes I tend to think of people as being in one of two buckets.  Either a person is in the “good” bucket or the person is in the “bad” bucket.  The reality is we are all in the “human being” bucket.  Every one of us has been created by a sovereign God and He made each of us for a reason.  The bible tells us that God knew us before He formed us in the womb (Jeremiah 1:5).  It tells us that God even made “the waster to destroy” (Isaiah 54:16).  Since God made us all, we are all in the same bucket.

The thirteenth verse of Proverbs 29 reminds me that God is in control.  It also reminds me that it is by grace, through faith, that we humans come to know the salvation of God (see Ephesians 2:8-10).  I pray that God will help me to always remember that I can walk by faith in Christ, knowing that God has made both the poor and the oppressor.  He, the Creator of all things, is Lord over all!

~ by brotherfaron on October 29, 2016.

One Response to “Proverbs Challenge, October 2016 – Day Twenty-nine”

  1. Today, verse 25 speaks to me. With the upcoming election, I have many apprehensions. I know the choice I will make, but I also know that there are great difficulties with either choice. Prophecy looms, and fears can come crashing in on us, but knowing that God is sovereign, that I am His child, and standing on the comfort that trusting in the Lord will bring, reassures me. I can take a deep breath, and know that whatever storms come my way, I can choose not to fear man, but instead, trust in the Lord, my Abba!

Leave a Reply

 
