Intimacy with God Leads to Ministry


I heard it said recently that ministry is a natural overflow of intimacy with God.  In other words, it becomes more important for us to focus on growing more in our relationship with God, becoming more intimate with Him that to focus on ministry and service.  The premise is that our growing intimacy with God will naturally lead to more service and ministry as the presence and power of God fills us and then overflows out from us.  It certainly made me think.

Can it be that God cares more about me knowing Him and relating to Him than He cares about what I do for Him or in His name?  As I began to research and study the question, I came across a passage I had never really seen in this light- “21 “Not everyone who says to Me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but he who does the will of My Father who is in heaven will enter. 22 Many will say to Me on that day, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in Your name, and in Your name cast out demons, and in Your name perform many miracles?’ 23 And then I will declare to them, ‘I never knew you; depart from Me, you who practice lawlessness.’” [Matthew 7:21-23]

May God help us all to know Him, to truly know Him intimately, that we may be found faithful to Him always.  May the knowledge of Him fill us to overflow in works that are pleasing to Him: not because we seek to please Him by our works but because He fills us so much with Himself that His works are done through us.  To Him be all glory forever, amen.

~ by brotherfaron on July 7, 2017.

2 Responses to “Intimacy with God Leads to Ministry”

  1. This is the journey the Lord has me on. I’m reading a book by Steve McVey called Living in the Kingdom of God where Grace Rules. The author speaks about abiding in Christ instead of living for Christ. It’s very freeing to know that God doesn’t need me but He desires me!

    • Thanks for the comment! It is freeing indeed to know that God actually desires us: to know that He wants to be in relationship with us. He does not need us nor our activity, yet He desires to be with us and has demonstrated that desire through the amazing gift of His Only Begotten Son’s life. Grace to you as you pursue intimacy with Him.

Leave a Reply

 
