Three Guidelines for Living


Reflecting on simple instructions concerning how to live found in the bible, I ran across this trio of guidelines found in Jude, verses 20 and 21:

-Build yourself up in faith;

-Pray in the Holy Spirit; and

-Keep yourselves in the love of God.

While these three things are relatively straightforward, I find some value in using them as a launching pad for further study on each topic.  For instance, what exactly is involved and required to “build myself up in faith”?  The bible tells me “faith comes by hearing and hearing by the Word of God” (Romans 10:17).  If I am going to build myself up in holy faith, I am going to need to “hear” the Word.

Again, I look at the statement “praying in the Holy Spirit” and have to ask “what does it mean to pray in the Holy Spirit”?  Romans 8:26-27 reveals that the Spirit (the Holy Spirit) helps us in our weakness because He (the Holy Spirit) intercedes for us according to God’s will even when we do not know how to pray.  He (the Holy Spirit) moves through “groanings too deep for words” to cry out to God the Father on our behalf.

Finally, to keep myself in the love of God is an interesting thought.  Just one quick starter to stimulate further research:  the bible tells me that God loves a cheerful giver (2 Corinthians 9:7).  At least in part, keeping myself in the love of God means I give cheerfully, right?

This post is certainly not comprehensive.  I pray that it will serve to cause you to give some serious thought to those three guidelines provided in Jude 20 and 21.  Then dig into God’s Word to explore each one more fully.  Grace in Christ.

~ by brotherfaron on July 30, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
